Hello, Again! I’m back with a sneak peek.

3 Sep

I’ve been a slacker!

And guess what: I’m going to keep being a slacker for a few more days. I’m taking a mental vacation before my crazy school semester starts at the end of the month. In reality, I’ve done just as much writing over summer break for this site as I would for any school semester. It’s been a productive summer, but not one conducive to resting the mind.

For today, I’m simply going to post a sneak peek from Acephalous–Ch. 5. 

Huh, it’s unusual to see a line here, she thought when she arrived at the café. She sat at her usual table near the window until the line dwindled down to two people and then went to order her tea. The bell on the door jingled as some more customers came in but she didn’t care to look at them. For all her paranoia, she was starting to feel like she should avoid everyone at all costs instead of practice her usual hyper-vigilance. She thought again about the photo. I have great friends. They know when I need to relax. I shouldn’t have been so harsh on Jordan…

The new customers stood behind her in line. When Breena got back to her table she found that a gentleman in his forties had taken it.

“Excuse me, sir. My things are here,” Breena pointed out.

“There’s no saving seats when it’s this busy. Sorry.” The man was clearly not sorry.

Breena huffed and said, “Well at least let me get my stuff. How would you have known if I was saving my seat or if I was just in the bathroom, anyway? Rude.”

The two girls that had been in line behind Breena waved her over from a table across the room. Breena pointed to herself asking, “Me?” and they nodded and motioned come hither. She grabbed her pile of sketch book, pencils, and purse off the rude man’s table and made her way to the girls. Breena felt like she deserved award money for the restraint she exercised in not sticking her tongue out at the man as she made away with her things.

“Some people can be such jerks, can’t they?” the blonde girl said as Breena neared. She held out her hand and said, “Hi, I’m Linda.”

Breena looked around for a place to set her things so she could shake Linda’s hand. The girls scooted their coffees and laptops to the side and Breena dropped her pile of stuff onto the table. “Thanks,” she said. “I’m Breena. Do you know that guy?” she asked gesturing back toward him.

The brunette replied, “No, we don’t know him, but he’s a regular here.”

“Yeah, a regular horse’s rear,” added Linda.

The brunette held out her hand. “I’m Tabitha and you are more than welcome to sit with us. You seem interesting enough and you’ve got to be nicer than him.”

“Thank you so much, ladies. It really is nice of you to share your table. I promise I won’t be a bother,” Breena went on.

“No,” the girls said in unison. “Not a bother at all,” continued Tabitha. “We’re in need of an addition to our café chatter.”

“I really do appreciate it, because I’m in need of London friends.”

“Yes, we could tell you’re new around here. So tell us about yourself and why you’re all alone in foggy London,” prompted Linda.

“Well, I just got here two weeks ago. I’m here until September. My mom planned the trip for me and didn’t tell me about it until seven days before my flight out from Michigan. I did not want to come and I still haven’t had anything exciting happen to me. Oh, except for I think I have a stalker. Does this town abound with them? He’s making me scared to walk around alone.”

“My goodness! A girl your age should be having the time of her life on a summer-long trip alone in London. What mischief we could get you into…” Tabitha mused.

As always, feel free to share this post via the share links below, but please do not delete information linking it to this page or claim the words as your own. This is my livelihood here.

Happy reading!

–Amanda Marsico

Editor, Proofreader, Red Ink Enthusiast

marsicoam@gmail.com

www.facebook.com/marsicowritesite

https://twitter.com/MarsWriteSite

http://pinterest.com/wordsnsounds/

2 Responses to “Hello, Again! I’m back with a sneak peek.”

  1. Donna Roberts September 3, 2013 at 4:28 pm #

    Can’t wait for more!

Let's Talk!

