Short #4

2 Jul

Worthwhile Travel

Smog, fog, rain—Ellen thought of it as her cozy blanket for years. It kept her delightfully secluded even when surrounded by people. “Alone together.” That’s how she’d described city life in one of her calls home. After she finally broke away from her childhood town, it never occurred to Ellen that there was any place else for her. Why would she leave the comforting urban canopy of carcinogens and clouds?

Apparently, “Because I said so,” still worked. When Ellen’s mother called to tell her that Pops passed, she preemptively refused all invitation home. Ellen found herself on a jet, a puddle jumper, and then a bus back Snoreville anyway. The bus stopped in front of the law office where Ellen was destined. The corner where the office and the pharmacy met the main road was the only bus stop. No special treatment.

The welcome from her family was stiff and forced.

As her family filed out of the office, the lawyer grabbed Ellen’s shoulder. “The will instructed me to give you this envelope privately. Go to his old place and open it somewhere peaceful.”

“Oh, Ok.” She stuffed it into her purse.

The bewildered look on her face must have been severe because the lawyer went out in a hurry.

In the breeze and sunshine of her grandfather’s land, she opened the envelope and read:

The address to my safety deposit box is on the back of this page with the password you’ll need to access it. Go. Get the money. It’s yours. You’ve got the courage and love the rest of this family is missing. That part of you always stays the same. Use the money for the rest of your surgeries. Ignore what the family says. It’s your body. I love you, Alvin. Ellen.

-Pops

11 Responses to “Short #4”

  1. Mitzi July 28, 2014 at 4:49 pm #

    Awesome blog! Do you have any recommendations for aspiring writers?
    I’m hoping to start my own site soon but I’m a little lost on everything.
    Would you propose starting with a free platform like WordPress or
    go for a paid option? There are so many options out there that I’m totally overwhelmed
    .. Any suggestions? Kudos!

    • marsicowritesite July 28, 2014 at 5:12 pm #

      Mitzi, Thank you for the compliments. My suggestion is definitely a free service like WordPress. I love my WordPress because it is so customizable and has various features you can add on for a price once you’re established and find that you need it. Without those features added on, the platform is still completely adequate. For example, the only thing I pay for on my WordPress is to be Ad free. Another benefit to this platform versus some of the other popular free ones is that this seems to be where all the really serious writers go. I’m not saying writers on other sites are less legitimate, but I am saying that there’s a wide audience here for people who are genuinely interested in reading what you have to say. After all, writers are voracious readers. As for advice for aspiring writers, the easiest to say and hardest to actually do is to make time to practice. You’ll hear that advice everywhere, but that’s because it’s true. It’s the only way to get better. And it’s not just as simple as using your extra time to write, but to force a space into your schedule to do it. That’s the hard part. The writing, once you’ve made the time to do it, is the fun part. I, unfortunately, don’t always practice what I preach. As you can see on the blog, there is little new content. Life gets hectic. It’s ok, though. Don’t feel guilty about it. Just pick up a pen when you can, and also find as many outlets for writing as possible. My content here may not be new, but I’ve been very busy with writing-related tasks elsewhere (another reason not to pay for a site unless you’re really going to commit to it for the duration of your payment plan). I hope this helps. Come back any time if you’ve got questions! I’m happy to help.

  2. Clarence July 23, 2014 at 12:26 pm #

    When someone writes an paragraph he/she retains the plan of
    a user in his/her brain that how a user can know it.
    So that’s why this article is great. Thanks!

  3. discover here now July 22, 2014 at 7:26 pm #

    I’m not sure where you are getting your information, but great topic.
    I needs to spend some time learning more or understanding more.

    Thanks for wonderful information I was looking for this information for my mission.

    • marsicowritesite July 22, 2014 at 7:33 pm #

      Thank you for reading. I’m glad you enjoyed the story and found it useful!

  4. Elvin June 16, 2014 at 11:39 pm #

    Hello There. I found your blog using msn. This is a
    really well written article. I’ll be sure to bookmark it and
    come back to read more of your useful info. Thanks for the
    post. I’ll certainly return.

    • marsicowritesite June 23, 2014 at 8:12 am #

      Thanks so much for reading! I’m glad you’re enjoying the blog. I hope to get new content live soon.

  5. birthday gift ideas for her May 3, 2014 at 2:35 pm #

    I think the admin of this web page is actually
    working hard in support of his web site, for the reason that
    here every material is quality based material.

    • marsicowritesite May 3, 2014 at 6:46 pm #

      Thank you for the compliments. I love what I do, so it’s nice to know others see it as quality. That’s my goal–to put out great writing and useful tips. Thanks so much for reading!

  6. https://www.yahoo.com/ April 22, 2014 at 2:06 pm #

    Incredible points. Sound arguments. Keep up
    the amazing work.

    • marsicowritesite April 22, 2014 at 2:33 pm #

      Thank you very much. I appreciate it. Thanks for reading.

Let's Talk!

